Clinician or researcher

Studies, guidelines and drugs in tables. Every row links to a page where each claim keeps its population, follow-up and sources.

Studies 4

StudyDesignPhaseCompletionFindingsSources cited
CHAP (Chronic Hypertension and Pregnancy) trial Pragmatic, multicenter, open-label, randomized controlled trial in the United States. Women were randomly assigned either to treatment aimed at keeping blood pressure under 140/90 mm Hg (the active group) or to standard care, in which blood-pressure drugs were not given, or were stopped if already in use, unless severe hypertension appeared. The sample size was reduced from a planned 4700 to a final 2404; the monitoring board for data and safety agreed to the reduction. A blinded outcome adjudication committee reviewed suspected primary and selected secondary outcomes. Follow-up ran to 6 weeks after birth.Phase 42022-04-01 (actual)91
WHO ACTION-I trial Multicountry, multicentre, individually randomized (1:1, site-stratified), parallel-group, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of intramuscular dexamethasone against identical placebo, given to women at risk of imminent preterm birth in 29 secondary- and tertiary-level hospitals. Women were randomized from December 2017 through November 2019. The sources describe the block design differently, and this is not reconciled: the manuscript says "balanced permuted blocks of size 10", while the CTRI record read through ICTRP describes permuted blocks of variable size.Phase 3Not reported33
WHO Immediate KMC Study (iKMC) Multicentre, non-blinded (open-label), parallel-group randomized trial in five tertiary hospitals. Randomization was stratified by site and birth weight (1.0 to under 1.5 kg and 1.5 to under 1.8 kg) in variable blocks; twins were allocated to the same group. An independent team assessed outcomes. Mother-infant pairs were randomized: 3211 infants with 2944 mothers. Screening ran from 30 November 2017 to 20 January 2020.Not applicableNot reported93
WOMAN trial (World Maternal Antifibrinolytic Trial) International, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group trial in 193 hospitals. Women were allocated by choosing a numbered treatment pack from a box of eight packs that were identical apart from the number. Participants, caregivers and outcome assessors were masked. Analysis was by intention to treat, with complete cases and no imputation.Phase 32016-06 (actual)93

Guidelines 6

GuidelineIssued byEditionPublishedStatusRecommendationsSources cited
Consolidated guidelines for the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of postpartum haemorrhage (WHO, FIGO and ICM, 2025) World Health Organization, International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO), International Confederation of Midwives (ICM)First edition, 2025.2025-10-05not checked43
NICE guideline NG133: Hypertension in pregnancy (2019, updated 2023) National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)Not reportedNot reportednot checked34
NICE HealthTech guidance HTG630: PLGF-based testing to help diagnose suspected preterm pre-eclampsia National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)HealthTech guidance HTG630, published in 2022 as diagnostics guidance DG49 and moved to the HTG number with its recommendations unchanged.2022-07-27not checked11
WHO recommendations for care of the preterm or low-birth-weight infant (2022) World Health OrganizationNot reportedNot reportednot checked11
WHO recommendations on antenatal corticosteroids (2022) World Health OrganizationNot reportedNot reportednot checked32
WHO recommendations on drug treatment for non-severe hypertension in pregnancy (2020) World Health OrganizationWHO recommendations, 2020.2020-08-11not checked11

Outcomes 13

What a study measures, defined.