Any pre-eclampsia (CHAP definition)
Whether the mother developed pre-eclampsia, with or without severe features, during the trial.
- Outcome
- In this atlas
Overview
Technical summary
CHAP secondary outcome, defined by ACOG criteria. It overlaps with the pre-eclampsia-with-severe-features part of the primary composite, so the two must not be added together. The recipient is the mother.
Definition
Preeclampsia, with or without severe features, defined according to ACOG criteria.
- Unit
- patients
Measured in
Studies in this atlas that report this outcome, by the claim each finding supports. Each finding keeps its own population, denominator and time window on the study page.
-
Secondary endpoint CHAP (Chronic Hypertension and Pregnancy) trial See the findings
Applies to Maternal- Pregnant women with known or new chronic hypertension and a viable singleton fetus before 23 weeks of gestation. Mild means below the severe thresholds, but the sources word the limit differently. The abstract says blood pressure below 160/100 mm Hg. The Methods required, at randomization, a systolic pressure of 140 to 159 or a diastolic pressure of 90 to 104 mm Hg for patients who “had not received an antihypertensive drug within 24 hours before measurement”, and below 160 and below 105 mm Hg for patients who “had been receiving antihypertensive therapy”. Women with lower pressures were also eligible. The registry gives a minimum age of 12 years and adds that the minimum age varies by center; the manuscript states no age limit.
- Recruiting sites of the CHAP Trial Consortium in the United States. The Methods say more than 70 recruiting sites; the Results say 2419 women were randomized at 61 sites. The manuscript does not say whether the sites were clinics or hospitals.
- United States
- Pregnancy, enrolled before 23 weeks of gestation and followed until 6 weeks after birth
- Gestational age up to 22 weeks 6 days
- Postnatal age Not reported
In the CHAP trial, any pre-eclampsia (with or without severe features) occurred in 295 of 1208 women in the treated group (24.4%) and 373 of 1200 women in the control group (31.1%), a risk ratio of 0.79 (95% CI 0.69 to 0.89).Limitations. This is a secondary outcome, reported without adjustment for multiplicity, so the authors say it should not be used to infer definitive effects. The risk ratio is not described as adjusted in the abstract or the table. The time window for this outcome is not stated in the manuscript text (follow-up ran to 6 weeks after birth; the primary composite counted pre-eclampsia up to 2 weeks after birth). It overlaps with the severe-features part of the primary composite, so the two must not be added. Open-label design, one country.
Record details
- Record id
maternal:outcome-chap-any-preeclampsia- Content hash
e8593b7551b2f95061b3fcd910670ddec9cc8f4658f7b2cc64897514ab6a4517