PlGF-based testing for suspected preterm pre-eclampsia
A blood test for placental growth factor (PlGF), alone or as a ratio with a second protein, used together with a clinician's usual assessment when pre-eclampsia is suspected before 37 weeks (preterm). NICE in England recommends four named tests to help rule pre-eclampsia in or out between 20 weeks and 36 weeks and 6 days. NICE recommends against using the tests to guide the decision on whether a planned early birth should be offered to people with preterm pre-eclampsia.
Also called PLGF-based testing
- Intervention
- In this atlas
Overview
Technical summary
The intervention NICE HTG630 (formerly DG49) recommends in recommendation 1.1: four named tests, to be used alongside the usual clinical assessment, two measuring PLGF alone (DELFIA Xpress PLGF 1-2-3 and Triage PLGF Test) and two using the sFlt-1/PLGF ratio (DELFIA Xpress sFlt-1/PLGF 1-2-3 ratio and Elecsys immunoassay sFlt-1/PLGF ratio). Each test is to be used within its manufacturer's stated indications for use, and some manufacturers do not indicate their tests for the whole gestational range. Recommendations 1.4 and 1.5 limit the use. This record is the NICE intervention only. It is not the US FDA-cleared use of the Elecsys test, which has a different stated purpose and population.
About this intervention
- Type
- Test
- Mechanism
- Not reported
Claims and evidence
Context Suspected preterm pre-eclampsia, 20 weeks to 36 weeks and 6 days (NICE HTG630)
- Recipient
- Maternal
- Population
- People with suspected preterm pre-eclampsia between 20 weeks and 36 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy. NICE treats a woman who meets only part of the pre-eclampsia criteria as having suspected pre-eclampsia.
- Care setting
- Not stated as a setting. The guidance is for the NHS and describes testing used with standard clinical assessment.
- Geography
- England (NHS). NICE's terms and conditions present the information on its websites as support for people in England who make decisions about funding care (clause 6) and say it is not written as a basis for decisions outside the United Kingdom (clause 8). The guidance page states no jurisdiction of its own. The guidance refers to routine use in the NHS.
- Life stage
- Pregnancy, 20 weeks to 36 weeks and 6 days
- Gestational age
- 20 weeks 0 days (140 days) to 36 weeks 6 days (258 days)
- Postnatal age
- Not reported
- Follow-up
- Not applicable (recommendation context)
Eligibility: 1 inclusion criterion; 1 exclusion criterion
- Included
- Suspected preterm pre-eclampsia between 20 weeks and 36 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy
- Excluded
- Not stated as an exclusion. Separate recommendations advise against using the tests to guide the decision on whether a planned early birth should be offered to people with preterm pre-eclampsia, and advise using a test once for each episode of suspected preterm pre-eclampsia.
NICE recommends four named tests that are based on placental growth factor (PLGF). They are to be used alongside the usual clinical assessment, as an aid to ruling pre-eclampsia in or out in people who are suspected of having preterm pre-eclampsia at 20 weeks to 36 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy, so that decisions about care can be made. The four tests are DELFIA Xpress PLGF 1-2-3, DELFIA Xpress sFlt-1/PLGF 1-2-3 ratio, Elecsys immunoassay sFlt-1/PLGF ratio and Triage PLGF Test. NICE adds that each test is to be used within its manufacturer's stated indications for use, and adds that some manufacturers do not indicate their tests for the whole gestational range.
Applies to Maternal- People with suspected preterm pre-eclampsia between 20 weeks and 36 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy. NICE treats a woman who meets only part of the pre-eclampsia criteria as having suspected pre-eclampsia.
- Not stated as a setting. The guidance is for the NHS and describes testing used with standard clinical assessment.
- England (NHS). NICE's terms and conditions present the information on its websites as support for people in England who make decisions about funding care (clause 6) and say it is not written as a basis for decisions outside the United Kingdom (clause 8). The guidance page states no jurisdiction of its own. The guidance refers to routine use in the NHS.
- Pregnancy, 20 weeks to 36 weeks and 6 days
- Gestational age 20 weeks 0 days to 36 weeks 6 days
- Postnatal age Not reported
- Certainty method
- Not assessed
- Limitations
- NICE recommends against using the tests to guide the decision on whether a planned early birth should be offered to people with preterm pre-eclampsia (recommendation 1.4), and recommends using a test once for each episode of suspected preterm pre-eclampsia (recommendation 1.5). NICE also does not recommend a fifth test, the BRAHMS sFlt-1 Kryptor/BRAHMS PLGF plus Kryptor PE ratio, for routine NHS use (recommendation 1.6). That statement is kept here and not as a separate recommendation, because no product record exists for that test. The recommendation is NICE's for the NHS and is not the US FDA-cleared use of the Elecsys test. The page gives no strength grade or certainty rating, and no performance figures are recorded here. The guidance was migrated from diagnostics guidance 49 with its content unchanged. Only the NICE pages read on 2026-10-11 were checked for a later edition.
- Last checked
- 2026-10-12
- Next evidence check due
- Not scheduled
Sources and citations (6)
-
- Locator
- 1.1, recommendation, tests and population
- How it applies
- NICE HTG630, cited and linked only. The four tests, the use with clinical assessment, the purpose and the gestational range.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- 2022-07-27
- Source state
- Current
- Snapshot hash
a398cf1b5677008d605646e1ca3792bb0a883ee77eec80f55a16e0f02251d7be- Reuse basis
- The page bytes are not committed. Public text is cite_only (Ben's decision of 2026-10-13 (medical-atlas-core issue 2)): public pages state the facts in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no NICE wording. NICE reuse terms were read on 2026-10-11 by the setup cluster and are summarised in research/setup/notes.md: the NICE UK Open Content Licence covers use in a UK setting only, international use outside personal research and study needs a licence and a fee, and the NICE terms and conditions make content available for artificial intelligence purposes only through an approval process, a licence and a fee for international use. This pipeline uses AI agents to read the pages, so Ben decided on 2026-10-13 that public pages cite and link NICE and use none of its wording. Cluster C did not read the terms pages again.
-
- Locator
- 1.1, note on indications for use
- How it applies
- Each test is to be used according to its own indications for use.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- 2022-07-27
- Source state
- Current
- Snapshot hash
a398cf1b5677008d605646e1ca3792bb0a883ee77eec80f55a16e0f02251d7be- Reuse basis
- The page bytes are not committed. Public text is cite_only (Ben's decision of 2026-10-13 (medical-atlas-core issue 2)): public pages state the facts in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no NICE wording. NICE reuse terms were read on 2026-10-11 by the setup cluster and are summarised in research/setup/notes.md: the NICE UK Open Content Licence covers use in a UK setting only, international use outside personal research and study needs a licence and a fee, and the NICE terms and conditions make content available for artificial intelligence purposes only through an approval process, a licence and a fee for international use. This pipeline uses AI agents to read the pages, so Ben decided on 2026-10-13 that public pages cite and link NICE and use none of its wording. Cluster C did not read the terms pages again.
-
- Locator
- 1.4
- How it applies
- A limit on use: not for decisions about a planned early birth.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- 2022-07-27
- Source state
- Current
- Snapshot hash
a398cf1b5677008d605646e1ca3792bb0a883ee77eec80f55a16e0f02251d7be- Reuse basis
- The page bytes are not committed. Public text is cite_only (Ben's decision of 2026-10-13 (medical-atlas-core issue 2)): public pages state the facts in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no NICE wording. NICE reuse terms were read on 2026-10-11 by the setup cluster and are summarised in research/setup/notes.md: the NICE UK Open Content Licence covers use in a UK setting only, international use outside personal research and study needs a licence and a fee, and the NICE terms and conditions make content available for artificial intelligence purposes only through an approval process, a licence and a fee for international use. This pipeline uses AI agents to read the pages, so Ben decided on 2026-10-13 that public pages cite and link NICE and use none of its wording. Cluster C did not read the terms pages again.
-
- Locator
- 1.5, sentence 1
- How it applies
- A limit on use: once per episode.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- 2022-07-27
- Source state
- Current
- Snapshot hash
a398cf1b5677008d605646e1ca3792bb0a883ee77eec80f55a16e0f02251d7be- Reuse basis
- The page bytes are not committed. Public text is cite_only (Ben's decision of 2026-10-13 (medical-atlas-core issue 2)): public pages state the facts in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no NICE wording. NICE reuse terms were read on 2026-10-11 by the setup cluster and are summarised in research/setup/notes.md: the NICE UK Open Content Licence covers use in a UK setting only, international use outside personal research and study needs a licence and a fee, and the NICE terms and conditions make content available for artificial intelligence purposes only through an approval process, a licence and a fee for international use. This pipeline uses AI agents to read the pages, so Ben decided on 2026-10-13 that public pages cite and link NICE and use none of its wording. Cluster C did not read the terms pages again.
-
- Locator
- 1.6, sentence 1
- How it applies
- A fifth test that NICE does not recommend for routine NHS use.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- 2022-07-27
- Source state
- Current
- Snapshot hash
a398cf1b5677008d605646e1ca3792bb0a883ee77eec80f55a16e0f02251d7be- Reuse basis
- The page bytes are not committed. Public text is cite_only (Ben's decision of 2026-10-13 (medical-atlas-core issue 2)): public pages state the facts in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no NICE wording. NICE reuse terms were read on 2026-10-11 by the setup cluster and are summarised in research/setup/notes.md: the NICE UK Open Content Licence covers use in a UK setting only, international use outside personal research and study needs a licence and a fee, and the NICE terms and conditions make content available for artificial intelligence purposes only through an approval process, a licence and a fee for international use. This pipeline uses AI agents to read the pages, so Ben decided on 2026-10-13 that public pages cite and link NICE and use none of its wording. Cluster C did not read the terms pages again.
-
- Locator
- Overview, paragraph 3
- How it applies
- Renumbering from DG49 to HTG630 with unchanged content.
- Retrieved
- Source effective date
- Not reported
- Source state
- Current
- Snapshot hash
e9bfd21573bac4a7a5269ae55ef93157c0a3ceb35d8125cb00d2eb7e6dd5fc12- Reuse basis
- The page bytes are not committed. Public text is cite_only (Ben's decision of 2026-10-13 (medical-atlas-core issue 2)): public pages state the facts in the atlas's own words, with a citation and a link, and use no NICE wording. NICE reuse terms were read on 2026-10-11 by the setup cluster and are summarised in research/setup/notes.md: the NICE UK Open Content Licence covers use in a UK setting only, international use outside personal research and study needs a licence and a fee, and the NICE terms and conditions make content available for artificial intelligence purposes only through an approval process, a licence and a fee for international use. This pipeline uses AI agents to read the pages, so Ben decided on 2026-10-13 that public pages cite and link NICE and use none of its wording. Cluster C did not read the terms pages again.
Guidance
Recommended: PlGF-based testing for suspected preterm pre-eclampsia
- People with suspected preterm pre-eclampsia between 20 weeks and 36 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy. NICE treats a woman who meets only part of the pre-eclampsia criteria as having suspected pre-eclampsia.
- Not stated as a setting. The guidance is for the NHS and describes testing used with standard clinical assessment.
- England (NHS). NICE's terms and conditions present the information on its websites as support for people in England who make decisions about funding care (clause 6) and say it is not written as a basis for decisions outside the United Kingdom (clause 8). The guidance page states no jurisdiction of its own. The guidance refers to routine use in the NHS.
- Pregnancy, 20 weeks to 36 weeks and 6 days
- Gestational age 20 weeks 0 days to 36 weeks 6 days
- Postnatal age Not reported
- Guideline
- PLGF-based testing to help diagnose suspected preterm pre-eclampsia (NICE HealthTech guidance HTG630, formerly diagnostics guidance DG49), edition Three pages as shown on 2026-10-11: the Overview, chapter 1 Recommendations and chapter 2 The diagnostic tests. The page header gives the reference number and the publication date. The Overview says diagnostics guidance 49 was migrated to HealthTech guidance 630 with its recommendations and content unchanged. The old DG49 address was fetched too (fetch-log label mc-nice-htg630-dg49.html) and says the guidance itself has not changed; it has no snapshot record.
- Strength
- Recommended (no graded strength label)
- Effective
- 2022-07-27
- Jurisdiction
- England (NICE HealthTech guidance for the NHS). NICE's terms and conditions present the information on its websites as support for people in England who make decisions about funding care (clause 6) and say it is not written as a basis for decisions outside the United Kingdom (clause 8). The guidance page states no jurisdiction of its own.
- Supersession
- Not checked
- Basis
- NICE recommends four named tests that are based on placental growth factor (PLGF). They are to be used alongside the usual clinical assessment, as an aid to ruling pre-eclampsia in or out in people who are suspected of having preterm pre-eclampsia at 20 weeks to 36 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy, so that decisions about care can be made. The four tests are DELFIA Xpress PLGF 1-2-3, DELFIA Xpress sFlt-1/PLGF 1-2-3 ratio, Elecsys immunoassay sFlt-1/PLGF ratio and Triage PLGF Test. NICE adds that each test is to be used within its manufacturer's stated indications for use, and adds that some manufacturers do not indicate their tests for the whole gestational range.
Limitations. NICE recommends against using the tests to guide the decision on whether a planned early birth should be offered to people with preterm pre-eclampsia (recommendation 1.4), and recommends using a test once for each episode of suspected preterm pre-eclampsia (recommendation 1.5). NICE also does not recommend a fifth test, the BRAHMS sFlt-1 Kryptor/BRAHMS PLGF plus Kryptor PE ratio, for routine NHS use (recommendation 1.6). That statement is kept here and not as a separate recommendation, because no product record exists for that test. The recommendation is NICE's for the NHS and is not the US FDA-cleared use of the Elecsys test. The page gives no strength grade or certainty rating, and no performance figures are recorded here. The guidance was migrated from diagnostics guidance 49 with its content unchanged. Only the NICE pages read on 2026-10-11 were checked for a later edition.
Clinical links
Each link reports what one cited claim says about one population. "Evaluated for" means studied, not shown to work. These links do not show that anything is effective or right for you.
-
Claim, not a settled fact NICE HTG630 1.1: used with standard clinical assessment to help rule pre-eclampsia in or out when preterm pre-eclampsia is suspected (20 weeks to 36 weeks 6 days): Pre-eclampsia
Applies to Maternal- People with suspected preterm pre-eclampsia between 20 weeks and 36 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy. NICE treats a woman who meets only part of the pre-eclampsia criteria as having suspected pre-eclampsia.
- Not stated as a setting. The guidance is for the NHS and describes testing used with standard clinical assessment.
- England (NHS). NICE's terms and conditions present the information on its websites as support for people in England who make decisions about funding care (clause 6) and say it is not written as a basis for decisions outside the United Kingdom (clause 8). The guidance page states no jurisdiction of its own. The guidance refers to routine use in the NHS.
- Pregnancy, 20 weeks to 36 weeks and 6 days
- Gestational age 20 weeks 0 days to 36 weeks 6 days
- Postnatal age Not reported
NICE recommends four named tests that are based on placental growth factor (PLGF). They are to be used alongside the usual clinical assessment, as an aid to ruling pre-eclampsia in or out in people who are suspected of having preterm pre-eclampsia at 20 weeks to 36 weeks and 6 days of pregnancy, so that decisions about care can be made. The four tests are DELFIA Xpress PLGF 1-2-3, DELFIA Xpress sFlt-1/PLGF 1-2-3 ratio, Elecsys immunoassay sFlt-1/PLGF ratio and Triage PLGF Test. NICE adds that each test is to be used within its manufacturer's stated indications for use, and adds that some manufacturers do not indicate their tests for the whole gestational range.Limitations. NICE recommends against using the tests to guide the decision on whether a planned early birth should be offered to people with preterm pre-eclampsia (recommendation 1.4), and recommends using a test once for each episode of suspected preterm pre-eclampsia (recommendation 1.5). NICE also does not recommend a fifth test, the BRAHMS sFlt-1 Kryptor/BRAHMS PLGF plus Kryptor PE ratio, for routine NHS use (recommendation 1.6). That statement is kept here and not as a separate recommendation, because no product record exists for that test. The recommendation is NICE's for the NHS and is not the US FDA-cleared use of the Elecsys test. The page gives no strength grade or certainty rating, and no performance figures are recorded here. The guidance was migrated from diagnostics guidance 49 with its content unchanged. Only the NICE pages read on 2026-10-11 were checked for a later edition.
Record details
- Record id
maternal:plgf-based-testing- Content hash
e52acadb4a8679d2f12bd71c876e6cc199254801839f102879a1ccb76d56ba30