# Brexanolone phase 3 trials (studies 202B and 202C)

Study · id `maternal:hummingbird-brexanolone-trials` · Maternal & Newborn Atlas · release `c7fb95f1d15a7d13` (public)

> General information from published sources, not medical advice, and not reviewed by clinicians. Check the cited source before relying on anything here.

The atlas's own text and curation may be reused under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/): credit the atlas, and do not use it commercially. See the atlas About page. Text quoted from a source stays under that source's own terms, given as the source's reuse\_basis. The atlas's reuse terms do not cover it. The downloads list each quotation with its source in third\_party\_quotations.

Also called: 547-PPD-202B; 547-PPD-202C

Browse, life stage: Postpartum  
Browse, care area: Mental health  

## In plain language

Two trials that tested a single 60-hour drip of brexanolone against a placebo in women with postpartum depression: one in women with severe depression and one in women with moderate depression. Women in the United States took part: 138 in the first trial and 108 in the second. The US 2019 label for Zulresso names them as its two efficacy studies.

## Technical summary

Registry NCT02942004 (547-PPD-202B, severe, registry enrolment 138) and NCT02942017 (547-PPD-202C, moderate, registry enrolment 108), both phase 3, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, lead sponsor Supernus Pharmaceuticals (industry; the abstract names Sage Therapeutics as funder), both COMPLETED. The paper abstract reports 30 clinical research centres and specialised psychiatric units in the USA, women aged 18 to 45 years and up to 6 months post partum, 138 randomised in study 1 (45, 47 and 46 across the 90 µg/kg per hour, 60 µg/kg per hour and placebo arms) and 108 in study 2 (54 and 54), follow-up to day 30, and a primary endpoint of HAM-D total score change at 60 hours. The two trials have different start and completion dates, so the study dates are left to the registry records and not shown here. The main paper has a published erratum that was not read. Findings are in the claims on the brexanolone and Zulresso pages; no structured findings are recorded because the atlas has no outcome record for HAM-D change.

## Key facts

- Design: Two multicentre, double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled phase 3 trials of a single 60-hour intravenous infusion. Study 1 (severe, HAM-D 26 or more): brexanolone 90 µg/kg per hour, 60 µg/kg per hour or placebo (1:1:1). Study 2 (moderate, HAM-D 20 to 25): brexanolone 90 µg/kg per hour or placebo (1:1). Registry masking: quadruple.
- Phase: Phase 3
- Enrolled: 138 participants (study 202B, ClinicalTrials.gov gives no unit) (enrolled count; A Study to Evaluate Efficacy and Safety of SAGE-547 in Participants With Severe Postpartum Depression (547-PPD-202B), snapshot `maternal:ctgov-nct02942004-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14); 108 participants (study 202C, ClinicalTrials.gov gives no unit) (enrolled count; A Study to Evaluate Safety and Efficacy of SAGE-547 in Participants With Moderate Postpartum Depression (547-PPD-202C), snapshot `maternal:ctgov-nct02942017-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14)
- Started: Not reported
- Primary completion: Not reported
- Completion: Not reported
- Countries: United States (A Study to Evaluate Efficacy and Safety of SAGE-547 in Participants With Severe Postpartum Depression (547-PPD-202B), snapshot `maternal:ctgov-nct02942004-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14)
- Care setting: Clinical research centres and specialised psychiatric units: 30 sites in the USA, as reported in the paper abstract. (Brexanolone injection in post-partum depression: two multicentre, double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled, phase 3 trials, snapshot `maternal:pubmed-30177236-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14)
- Registry status: "COMPLETED" (U.S. National Library of Medicine (ClinicalTrials.gov), snapshot `maternal:ctgov-nct02942004-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14); "COMPLETED" (U.S. National Library of Medicine (ClinicalTrials.gov), snapshot `maternal:ctgov-nct02942017-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14)

## Connected pages

- Tests brexanolone injection as a 60-hour infusion: Brexanolone (`maternal:brexanolone`)
- Named as Studies 1 and 2 in the Zulresso label: Zulresso (brexanolone injection) (`maternal:zulresso`)

## Provenance

Content hash: 96c6f013e88659bbe5da37981da98d1ea5447a4ac377fe431d2383bf899a908c
Last substantive edit: 2026-10-14
Evidence last checked: 2026-10-14
