# CHAMPION trial (heat-stable carbetocin against oxytocin)

Study · id `maternal:champion-trial` · Maternal & Newborn Atlas · release `fc5a600ec7387e71` (public)

> General information from published sources, not medical advice, and not reviewed by clinicians. Check the cited source before relying on anything here.

The atlas's own text and curation may be reused under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/): credit the atlas, and do not use it commercially. See the atlas About page. Text quoted from a source stays under that source's own terms, given as the source's reuse\_basis. The atlas's reuse terms do not cover it. The downloads list each quotation with its source in third\_party\_quotations.

Also called: CHAMPION

Browse, life stage: Childbirth; Postpartum  
Browse, care area: Recovery after birth  

## In plain language

A large trial in 10 countries that compared a heat-stable form of carbetocin with oxytocin, each given by injection right after a vaginal birth, to prevent heavy bleeding. Heat-stable carbetocin was no worse than oxytocin for the first main outcome, blood loss of 500 mL or more or extra medicine to stop bleeding. For the second main outcome, blood loss of 1000 mL or more, noninferiority was not shown, and the authors say the low event rates reduced the power of the trial.

## Technical summary

Randomised, double-blind, noninferiority trial (2018; PMID 29949473) at 23 sites in 10 countries; 29,645 women underwent randomisation. Registry numbers named in the PubMed record: ACTRN12614000870651 (ANZCTR), EudraCT 2014-004445-26 and CTRI/2016/05/006969; the registry records were not fetched, so no registry dates or status are recorded. Funded by Merck Sharpe & Dohme, as the abstract spells the name. The 2025 postpartum haemorrhage guideline calls it a multi-country trial of nearly 30 000 women. Both drugs were kept in cold storage to maintain double-blinding.

## Key facts

- Design: Randomised, double-blind, noninferiority trial comparing intramuscular heat-stable carbetocin 100 micrograms with intramuscular oxytocin 10 IU, given immediately after vaginal birth. Both drugs were kept in cold storage (2 to 8 degrees Celsius) to maintain double-blinding.
- Phase: Not reported
- Enrolled: 29645 women (randomized count; Heat-Stable Carbetocin versus Oxytocin to Prevent Hemorrhage after Vaginal Birth, snapshot `maternal:pubmed-29949473-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14)
- Started: Not reported
- Primary completion: Not reported
- Completion: Not reported
- Countries: Argentina; Egypt; India; Kenya; Nigeria; Singapore; South Africa; Thailand; Uganda; United Kingdom (CHAMPION: carbetocin versus oxytocin to prevent postpartum haemorrhage (ANZCTR record), snapshot `maternal:champion-anzctr-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14)
- Care setting: 23 sites in 10 countries. The abstract does not say what kind of site took part or name the countries. (Heat-Stable Carbetocin versus Oxytocin to Prevent Hemorrhage after Vaginal Birth, snapshot `maternal:pubmed-29949473-2026-10-14`, retrieved 2026-10-14)
- Registry status: Not reported

## Connected pages

- Tests heat-stable carbetocin against oxytocin: Carbetocin (heat-stable formulation) (`maternal:carbetocin`)
- Comparator: oxytocin 10 IU: Oxytocin (`maternal:oxytocin`)
- Compares two uterotonics for preventing postpartum haemorrhage: Medicine to prevent heavy bleeding right after birth (oxytocin or another uterotonic) (`maternal:uterotonic-pph-prevention`)

## Provenance

Content hash: 59ffc83740a86793eec9a6e45e404da7fd8dabcd4431fa64dee317a1a50daec2
Last substantive edit: 2026-10-14
Evidence last checked: 2026-10-14
